Here you can find out all about us!
FIFE Computers was established in the summer of 1998. It was a joint partnership between father and son, namely John and Kevin.
John is a fully qualified civil engineer, currently working for Mouchel Parkman group. He obtained a 1st Class BSC(HONS) and PhD in Mining Engineering.
Kevin graduated from Napier University with a BSC(HONS) in software engineering in 2004. He is now the current manager and chief engineer at FIFE Computers.
With their keen enthusiasm and shrewd eye for a new venture they decided opening a computer store in Kinross would be a good idea.
Over the years business has steadily increased, mainly through recommendation and word of mouth. From the early days where we would repair around 2-3 computers a week, to a business which at peak times will turn around 30-40 computers a week.
As demand and work increased we move from 102 High Street (located next to Hunter’s the Butchers) across to 113 High Street, on the corner of Burns-Begg Street and the High Street in 2001.
We strive to assist local customers in many areas from free advice to recommending a complete business IT solution.
We loyally carry out work for many of the well established businesses in Kinross.
This building was was once the old tollbooth until it was improved in 1771 when Robert Adam, the famous architect and M.P. for Kinross-shire decorated the front at his own expense.
The building continued in use as a jail until 1826, when the new County Buildings were built further along the High Street.
The unique roundness of the main shop frontage is especially interesting, and helps to add character to the building as a whole.
The shop was previously an off license, and also an interior design company before becoming FIFE Computers when we relocated in 2001.